Cheers!

Cheers to Good CompanySimilar to “thank you”, there are many ways of saying “cheers”. This past summer, I had to opportunity to visit multiple countries throughout Europe and one thing I learned was how to say “cheers” in different languages. The people I met were so interesting and although we were all very different in many ways, one thing remained the same: alcohol brought us together. Beer, wine, basically anything that was readily available to us. Here are a few different ways of saying “cheers” and some things that I learned along with the notion of saying them.

  1. Tchin- “Tchin” is what I learned in Paris. I also learned that the French bring a lot of respect to wine. For example, if you’re eating dinner with a group and there is wine at the table, no one should touch their wine until everyone at the table is served. When you “cheers” or say “tchin” to one another, you must look the other person in the eye while your glasses clink. One must try to not look at their glass while clinking the other person’s glasses because that means the eye contact has been broken. In my opinion, this was always so difficult for me and my friends because we were often afraid of clinking our glasses to hard and breaking the glasses over our (always) delicious dinner.
  2. Cin Cin- Cin Cin is what I learned in Italy. It’s actually very similar to France where the Italians also respect their wine. Often times, out of courtesy, me and my friends always waited until everyone was served their glass of wine. One thing I noticed in Italy is that a glass of wine during dinner wasn’t too pricey. In comparison to getting a glass during dinner in the United States, it was a lot less expensive. I never questioned it. I just embraced it.
  3. Salud- Salud is what I learned in Spain. I visited quite a few cities in Spain and everyone always said “salud” when drinking. Something I noticed was that a lot of people would say “salud”, clink their glasses, then hit their glass/cup on the table or bar. When I asked a few people why they did that, I got a few different answers. Problem is, I’m not sharing those answers here. A few of the answers were a bit inappropriate. But hey, you’re more than welcome to Google the answer!
  4. Yamas- Yamas is what I learned in Greece. Out of all the sayings, “yamas” is my favorite. Basically, instead of saying “cheers”, people said “yamas” which translates to “health to you and me.” Greek people are so nice!
