Wine of the Week: Riesling

eo9znteuh_y-thomas-martinsenI usually prefer reds, but this riesling makes me want to turn down any red for a bottle of a crsip, fresh white. A lot of the wines I’ve shared with you all are from France. I promise I didn’t do that on purpose, but it just happened to be that my favorites from my weekly evalutions (“experiments”) have been from France. This riesling is no exception.

  1. Vintage- 2014 (grandcru)
  2. Producer- Pfaff
  3. Varietal- 100% Riesling
  4. Region- Alsace AOC
    1. Sub Region- Zinnkoepfle
    2. Country- France

From looking at my glass, I could see that this wine has a yellow-green rim, but a pale gold middle area. The aromas practically burst out of my glass. I can smell fruit, fruit, and more fruit! There’s nectarines, peaches, apples, green apples, and a hint of zest — lemons, maybe?

On the palate, it has a very high acidity and it is a dry wine. Perfect for your seafood dishes! The alcohol level is at 12.0%.

As I mentioned, this dish pairs well with seafood. Some suggestions I would make are sushi and ceviche. Yum! I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

This bottle is priced at $18.

