All About Dessert Wines

qpf2glk0baa-tatiana-lapinaFor a while, I wasn’t touching dessert wines at all because I was scared that I’d pair it incorrectly or that it would be way too sweet for my liking. However, there are ways to ensure that a bottle of dessert wine would be enjoyed just as much as your next red or white. 

In fact, sometimes dessert wines could even fly solo. You don’t even need to necessarily pair it with another dessert dish. For example, there is one particular dessert wine that I find to be of very good value as far as dessert wines go. Sure, it could probably go with a nice earl grey creme brûlée, but I’d be lying if I said I haven’t had it on its own.

Before I continue, here’s some information on the dessert wine:

  1. Vintage- 2011
  2. Producer- Chataeu Suduiraut
  3. Varietal- Sauvignon Blanc, Semillon
  4. Region- Bordeaux
    1. Sub Region- Sauternes
    2. Country- France

If you’re a fan of honey and peach, you’ll love this dessert wine.

The thing with pairing dessert wines with desserts, is that you want to pair the dessert with a wine that is slightly less sweet. You don’t want to overwhelm your tastebuds with too much sweetness. Can you say sugar overload?

Another general rule of thumb for wine is that you should pair it with similar flavors.

And there you have it, folks. Good luck with the pairing!

 

