Wine of the Week: 100% Chardonnay

z2-meduatae-thomas-verbruggenAnd yet, another wine from France — and yes, another one from the Burgundy region. But I’m not going to apologize because you’ll thank me for this one. This wine is a very neutral wine. Good to pair with a number of dishes. For those who like to keep a few bottles around the house, this one is a good choice. 

  1. Vintage- 2013
  2. Producer- Louis Latour
  3. Varietal- 100% Chardonnay
  4. Region- Burgundy
    1. Sub Region- n/a
    2. Country- France

At first glance, this wine has a golden yellow color all throughout its body. The viscosity seems to be at a medium. Now moving onto the nose. At first, my nose was a little confused with the aromas and I’ll tell you why. I got the hint of green pears and lemon peels. However, after a while, I also got a hint of oak, vanilla, and toasted almond. So there is definitely a lot going on with this wine.

It’s very high in acidity and is off-dry, so not too sweet but not too dry either. The alcohol level is at 13.5%.

Overall, its falls a little short on the finish, but considering that it’s priced at $15/bottle and it’s neutral effects, this is still a good wine to get. It’s easy to drink and not too high in alcohol.

Now what to pair with this wine? I’d say a seafood risotto!

